Tesla, Powerwall 3 (1707000-xx-y)
Tesla Powerwall 3
13.5 kWh usable AC battery with a built-in 3 MPPT solar inverter, up to 11.04 kW continuous output and up to three 13.5 kWh Expansion units.
- Usable
- 13.5 kWh
- Continuous power
- 11.04 kW
- Warranty
- 10 yrs
- Federal discount now
- $3,370 to $3,640
Our read of the datasheet
Powerwall 3 combines a battery with a solar inverter, so one unit takes up to 20 kW of solar across three MPPTs and supplies up to 11.04 kW AC continuously. The output is configured at 5, 10 or 11.04 kW, so check which version your quote lists. The datasheet also rates it to start heavy loads up to 185 A locked rotor amps.
With 13.5 kWh usable, a single unit sits just under the 14 kWh point where the federal discount rate drops, so all of its capacity earns the full rate. Each Expansion adds 13.5 kWh and up to three fit behind one Powerwall 3, but capacity above 14 kWh earns the discount at a lower rate. Charging stays at 5 kW with Expansions until a future firmware version lifts it to 8 kW.
The Australian warranty covers 10 years with 70% energy retention and no cycle limit when the battery is used for solar self-consumption, time-based control and backup. Other uses carry a 37.8 MWh throughput limit. Backup needs a Backup Gateway 2, and the datasheet does not state the cell chemistry.
We have not tested this battery. This summary follows from the manufacturer's published specifications, checked 23 September 2026.
Strengths
- Built-in solar inverter with 3 MPPTs and up to 20 kW of solar input
- Up to 11.04 kW continuous output from one unit
- 13.5 kWh usable, under the 14 kWh discount taper
- No cycle limit on the warranty for self-consumption and backup use
Things to check
- Backup needs a Backup Gateway 2
- Charging limited to 5 kW with Expansions until a firmware update
- Cell chemistry not stated on the datasheet
Specifications
- Usable capacity
- 13.5 kWh
- Nominal capacity
- 14 kWh
- Continuous power
- 11.04 kW
- Phases
- Single-phase (Backup Gateway 2 supports three-phase sites)
- Backup
- Whole or partial home backup with Backup Gateway 2
- Expansion
- Up to 3 Expansion units (13.5 kWh each), up to 4 Powerwall 3 units
- Warranty
- 10 years
- Warranty terms
- 10 years, 70% energy retention, unlimited cycles for self-consumption, time-based control and backup; 37.8 MWh for other uses
- IP rating
- IP67 (battery and electronics), IP55 (wiring)
- Weight
- 130 kg
- Dimensions
- 609 x 1105 x 193 mm
- Operating temperature
- -20 to 50 C
Compare with
All home batteriesAlphaESS
AlphaESS SMILE-M-BAT-13.9P
Single 13.99 kWh usable LFP battery module for the single-phase AlphaESS SMILE-M5, rated at 5.04 kW, with a second module for 27.98 kWh.
- Usable
- 13.99 kWh
- Continuous power
- 5.04 kW
- Warranty
- 10 yrs
Anker SOLIX
Anker SOLIX X1
Modular single-phase hybrid system with 5 kWh LFP battery modules, 1 to 6 per system, and 5 or 6 kW power modules with off-grid output.
- Continuous power
- 3 kW
- Warranty
- 10 yrs
BYD
BYD Battery-Box Premium HVM
High-voltage LFP battery stack of 3 to 8 modules, 8.28 to 22.08 kWh usable per tower, that pairs with a compatible third-party hybrid inverter.
- Usable
- 8.28 kWh
- Continuous power
- 7.68 kW
- Warranty
- 10 yrs